Canvas / Assistance needed to reverse cross-listed sections

Objective

  • To obtain assistance with reversing cross-listed Canvas course sections when:
    • You cross-listed your courses incorrectly and want to reverse the action
    • You cross-listed your courses incorrectly, lost your content, and want to restore it
    • You moved content on your Canvas site and lost course work
    • You want to de-cross-list Canvas course sections

Scope

  • CAUTION: DO NOT CROSS-LIST COURSES AFTER THE TERM HAS BEGUN OR STUDENT WORK WILL BE LOST. It is a best practice to avoid cross-listing courses. If faculty wants to crosslist a course after there are submissions and/or grades, student work and grades will be lost in the cross-listed sections
  • If a faculty has already cross-listed a course and wants to decross-list (separate) the courses, the Admin user role is the only one that has permission to decross-list. Caution for decross-listing: student work and content will not follow courses that are decrosslisted. Only the primary (the SIS ID course) (see instructions on cross-listing) will retain content and any student work

User

  • Canvas Instructor

Environment

  • 10185: Canvas

Cause

  • Added content to the primary course prior to cross-listing — for example if you are cross-listed sections A, B, and C add your content to section A
  • When courses are de-cross-listed, the roster will move into the original Canvas course shell; however, the content will appear only in the primary course (A)
  • Faculty cannot de-cross-list courses

Resolution

 

Notes

 


For internal use

 

Details

Article ID: 22979
Created
Fri 1/13/17 9:17 AM
Modified
Tue 1/10/23 5:14 PM
Can you resolve this issue yourself?
Yes! This is self-service with a smile.
Supported Office or Community
Miami Online

Related Articles (1)

Related Services / Offerings (1)

Service provides a set of tools to supplement a course's teaching or provide a single online-course experience.